Visual Studio Code and Powershell Snippets the easy way

I spent more time working with Visual Studio Code and Snippets. For my Comment Based Help I did find a way to add the file name but sadly there seems to be no way to include a Date. I have been spoiled by some of the stuff Sapien does and wanted to see if I could reproduce that. Maybe more on that later. If you are looking to quickly create snippets, and this is not just Powershell, but there is an extension that makes it a very simple process. Check out https://marketplace.visualstudio.com/items?itemName=tariky.easy-snippet-maker . There is another one I am testing but as I started to work through these I found something that had me thinking there was a problem but I looked a little further and nope no problem if you know where to look.

What am I talking about? So this extension allows you to select some code, right-click create snippet… enter the Name, prefix and Description and wala you have a snippet. Then I tried it in the Insiders version of Visual Studio Code… hmmm doesn’t seem to work. Uggh. Try again and it says a Snippet with that name already exists. I open the powershell.json file and I can’t find it. What the heck…. then I compared \Roaming\Code\User\Snippets to \Roaming\Code – Insiders\User\Snippets the extension is putting the Snippet in the non Insiders version of the Snippets folder. Just an FYI.

Leave a Reply

